nomadinmotion.blogg.se

Why can i not get into my bt email account
Why can i not get into my bt email account






why can i not get into my bt email account
  1. #Why can i not get into my bt email account update
  2. #Why can i not get into my bt email account code
  3. #Why can i not get into my bt email account password
  4. #Why can i not get into my bt email account windows

Now the W8 sign on won’t recognize us, which means we can’t access the computer and all the above messages appear. Tried to set up a new account, but was informed the ACCOUNT ALREADY EXIST. We tried w/both the old and new password, (with all the recommended procedures) but kept getting back the account didn’t exist. When we tried to sign back in we were told the account doesn’t exist.

#Why can i not get into my bt email account password

Needed to change the password (MS notified us of a change thru his email) until then it worked well.

why can i not get into my bt email account

I am helping someone that just purchased a new computer w/W8, and signed up to My Account. While I’m here, I’ll also add a security question, just for additional insurance against potentially forgetting or losing my password again. You can see that I always ensure that my cellphone - without which it couldn’t have sent me that text message - and alternative email address are shown.

#Why can i not get into my bt email account update

Now Microsoft Account center will actually prompt you to update your personal information that’s on file. Enter your email and the new password you just entered, and click on “Sign in”. Easy trick: append a punctuation mark or two, so “doris” could become “doris!!” and voila, it’s a new password.Įnter your desired password twice, click “Next” and it’ll take you directly to a log in page:Īs always, if you’re on your own computer and it’s secure, check “Keep me signed in”, but definitely do not do if it’s a shared device of any type. If you think you can just use your previous password or another one that you “always” use on different sites - which really isn’t a very good idea - then it’ll complain once you’ve entered it twice and clicked on “Next” again: Now you’ve proved you’re who you say you are, or at least that you have access to that particular cell phone, and you’re ready to proceed:

#Why can i not get into my bt email account code

It then shows a confirmation of what number it’s going to use by just listing the last two digits:Ĭlick on “Send code” and a moment or two later a text message shows up on your phone similar to this:Įnter that code too (it’s a one-time code, so don’t get too excited I published it here) then click on “Submit”. I’ll choose the latter, it’s faster and more instant gratification, by clicking on the button adjacent to “Send a code to my phone”.

why can i not get into my bt email account

There are two main ways you can reset your account password, either by having a temporary one-use password emailed to the primary email address you’ve specified for your account or, if you have been smart enough to register your cellphone number with the Microsoft account management system in the past, have them send you a code to your phone. You know the drill, enter your account email address and the letters represented by the captcha to prove you’re human, not a robot. Or thought I did, but it turns out that, well, the password I entered was incorrect:Īfter trying a number of possibilities, I cried “uncle!” and clicked on the “Can’t access your account?” link, which took me to one of those accursed captcha things: Here’s how I fixed things…įirst off, I logged in to my Microsoft account. When I was recently writing about SkyDrive I had the same issue, actually, that I couldn’t remember my account password. Thing is, Microsoft keeps track of all your old passwords (presumably in an encrypted manner, so they’re not all just sitting on a server somewhere in the clear, waiting to have some enterprising hacker extract everything!). But that’s tedious and it can be annoying to have multiple accounts and not know what’s what.Īs with every other service, however, Microsoft has a password recovery program, though it’s really a “verify your identity and we’ll let you reset your password to something new” if you really want to be honest about it. However you slice it, really the easiest way to deal with a lost password is to simply set up a new account and start over.

#Why can i not get into my bt email account windows

You’re right about your Microsoft Account being based on previous accounts you might have set up with different Microsoft properties, notably either Windows Live Messenger or Hotmail (now called, of course).








Why can i not get into my bt email account